return to home
Databases

To access Mid-Hudson Library System's Putnam County Libraries database (HOME ACCESS) page, click HERE. You will need your 14-digit library card number to access everything listed on this page.

To access the databases below, click the desired source on the left column. When the source's browser opens, follow instructions, which may include entering your 14-digit library card number. Your card must be from a library in the Mid-Hudson Library System and in some cases it must be a MAHOPAC library card because of the way they are funded. The column on the right will guide you. Close [X] the database to return to this page.

For additional information from the Internet, please go to the REFERENCE SITES page.
Auto Repair
For more than 100 years, Chilton ® products have set the standard for reference sources for Do-It-Yourself automotive enthusiasts and professionals. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Biography
Encyclopedia of
World Biography
Vol. 1-23, Vol. 24, Vol. 25, Vol. 26, Vol. 27
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
There is a separate link for each of the the various volumes. Vol 1-23 contains the encyclopedia; Vols 24 through 27 are supplements updating material annually from 2005 through 2007.

LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historic context. Twayne's Authors Series is also available on this site. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Business
A premier job search, reference, and mailing list database. The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. For sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends & relatives, and much more.
MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
The critically lauded Business & Company Resource Center has been Gale's cornerstone business resource for more than a decade. But a lot has changed since its initial release in 2000. Today’s business researchers demand instant access to reliable, comprehensive data and the tools to analyze and interpret the information. That’s why we’re transforming Business & Company Resource Center into Business Insights: Essentials. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
For business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals. The collection contains 10,231,146 articles updated daily. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Stock and mutual fund information from Morningstar.com. Find current and historical quotes for over 90,000 investments, and in-depth analysis for nearly 7,000 mutual funds and stocks. Plus, company and industry information and financial education tutorials.

NO CARD NEEDED
IN LIBRARY

Stock and mutual fund information from Morningstar.com. Find current and historical quotes for over 90,000 investments, and in-depth analysis for nearly 7,000 mutual funds and stocks. Plus, company and industry information and financial education tutorials.

MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY


College & Career Prep Tools
Live, interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job: job coaching, resume assistance, and more. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
(Please use your library card # at the prompt 'user name')
A leading source for interactive practice exams and test preparation materials. Available tests include academic (including GED), adult basic skills, civil service exams, cosmetology, EMS, firefighter, law enforcement, military, real estate, U.S. citizenship, graduate school entrance, and teaching. Includes a database of more than 1100 occupations, a resume builder, and cover letter, and interviewing tips. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Encyclopedias
Grolier Online includes several encyclopedia databases, including Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia and The New Book of Knowledge, in addition to a 'Find It Fast' option that allows access to a wealth of diverse information. Lesson plans and education level preferences are also on this site.

LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY

Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers many ethnoreligious groups.

LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Provides coverage of demographic topics and encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years. Rapid demographic expansion in poor countries, immigration, problems of old-age support, the environmental impact of dense population are just some of the topics covered.
LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Through EBSCO Host, Funk & Wagnall's provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a wide variety of subject areas. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
All the authoritative content of the printed encyclopedia plus much more for diverse ages and learning levels: World Book Online for Kids grades K-5; World Book Online Info Finder for students grades 6 and up; Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos en Espanol.

MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED

Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED


Genealogy
Ancestry Library
In-Library Use Only
Ancestry Library is a user-friendly tool for all sorts of genealogical searches. If you are looking for information about families, click on the site and try it. IN MAHOPAC LIBRARY
USE ONLY
Family records and local histories, including U.S. Federal census data, family, banking, and military records, genealogies, local histories, and more. Primary source materials new content added weekly. If you are in any location including Mahopac Public Library be ready to enter your library card number. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED

Health
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia, all available 24/7 through an intuitive, state-of-the-art platform. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

History
This reference work covers the impact of the first decade of the twenty-first century, including the most significant people, institutions, events, and developments spanning both the United States and Canada. It contains more than 400 alphabetically arranged essays that cover the full breadth of North American history and culture throughout the decade. NO LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
HRVH provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. The entire contents of the newspaper issues can be searched and browsed in these publications: Newburgh Telegraph (1831 - 1835); Rockland County Journal (1850 - 1879); Rockland County Messenger (1848;1851 - 1855;1857); Rockland County Times (1902 - 1904); The Kingston Daily Freeman (1895;1903 - 1912); Vassar Miscellany News (1914 - 2000).
NO LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Researchers can use the database to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
The Historical New York Times online provides full text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 2005 and is searchable by keyword (“Titanic sinks”) or by date (April 16, 1912). Scroll through all related articles, or use the Page Map to view the entire page and navigate through the paper from first page to last. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
The Sixties in America compiles the history of this significant decade in the United States and Canada, searchable by subject or keyword. NO LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
The study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Language Learning
Twenty-two very effective language tutorials are available on this site, including Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, German, Greek, Mandarin Chinese, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, English for Polish speakers, English for Spanish speakers, and English for Brazilian Portuguese speakers. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Law/Legal
WestLaw
In-Library Use Only
Westlaw is West's online legal research service. It provides quick, easy access to West's vast collection of statutes, case law materials, public records, and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information. IN MAHOPAC LIBRARY
USE ONLY:
ASK FOR ASSISTANCE

Literature

Gale Literary Criticism
for Students

Provides researchers with 24/7 access to rich analysis, context and criticism, plus author biographies, on the most frequently studied works of classic and contemporary literature. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
Magill's Literary Annual evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature and works of interest to general readers published from 1976 to the present. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
Click on 'Masterplots' in the left margin once the page opens to find plot synopses, character analyses, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of world literature, including drama, novels, short fiction, and poetry. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
NoveList is a leading electronic fiction resource. It provides enhanced subject access to more than 125,000 fiction titles. You can find fiction titles, access author read-alikes, browse lists based on genre or awards, read and use feature articles, guides, and more. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED

Magazines & Newspapers
Gale offers forty periodical databases to select from, several of which are individually listed elsewhere on this page. If you are searching for an article on a topic not listed on this database page, then try the All Gale Magazine Databases page. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Digital microfilm of the Putnam/Westchester area of The Journal News from 2010 to the current year, and The New York Times from 2008 to the current year. MAHOPAC
CARD
NEEDED
OUT OF LIBRARY
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
The Culinary Arts collection includes major cooking and nutrition magazines, culinary journals and several Delmar Reference titles. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. This collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
With this collection of home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.
LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Popular Magazines includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. you can search a collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

Science
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED
This alphabetically organized set opens up the entire world of science in clear, nontechnical language. Topics profiled are related to the physical, life, and earth sciences, as well as to math, psychology, engineering, technology, and the environment.
LIBRARY
CARD
NEEDED

If you do not have a library card, contact your local library, which you can find through the Mid-Hudson Library System's listings, to get one. If you are looking for library books and materials, check the public library catalog. Contact your local library, through the Mid-Hudson Web site, with any questions or comments.
Help: Sometimes there are conflicts with firewall software on home computers. The following settings may take care of the problem: the option to accept cookies, including third party cookies, needs to be enabled; the option to allow the use of port 2048 to be checked ON.